A Little Girl Remains Little But Gains a Year

Finally!! 
Hip Hip Hooray!!
It’s Lily’s Birthday!!
Or at least it was, yesterday. We decided to forgo the big birthday party and instead she had about 4 mini parties throughout the week. We all went to the circus, opened presents, had lots and lots of cake, went to a Peter and the Wolf play, she went to build-a-bear with a friend, and overall had a lovely time.
She has a strawberry cake every year but recently she’s been so infatuated with neapolitan that I was pretty much obligated to make this amazing neapolitan hi-hat cake for her. It’s a layer of brownies with strawberry jam, then strawberry cake, encased in chocolate buttermilk frosting, topped with whipped cream, and then the entire thing is coated in chocolate. I’m not a big fan of those overly sweet deserts (like oreo cheesecake) but the difference in textures and tastes made this probably one of the best cakes I’d ever had. Beware though, the whipped cream melts easily, as you can see from my picture, so keep it frozen! You can buy IamBaker’s new book here, or just see this recipe here.

I think it’s just the nice spring weather but I’ve been super sappy lately. I just keep looking around and welling up with how much I love everything and everyone. Lily and her birthday were no exception. Her little brother and I took turns telling her all the ways she’s grown up this past year and it was almost painful how proud I was of her.

I don’t feel any sadness about her age. In fact, it’s almost a bit surprising to me that she’s only 7. I have to keep reminding myself that she’s not quite as old as she acts. I called her the other day and if her voice wasn’t so high-pitched I would’ve sworn I was talking to a twenty year old woman. Is it possible that someone so little can be so big?

I absolutely love how much she constantly surprises me. Her dad and I really try to be good parents but we rarely feel like what we do and say has much of an impact on her. But then I hear her and her brother cracking up and she tells me it’s because they’re singing Beethoven’s 5th symphony in the silliest ways they can (her exact words, I swear) and I just think “Who is this child and where did she come from? Surely she can’t belong to us?!” 

And she’s just such a wisp of a thing. 
Well, although she be but little she is fierce. Of mind at least.

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-52731437-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

