Five Favorites

This was our first week of homeschooling. Well, IS our first week. And it’s not really homeschooling I guess. I’ve signed up my daughter for online public schooling, and we plan to just supplement it with more fun and interesting things. Even though the online public schooling is really blah and mundane and…well, like every other public school, just having her home and able to do more fun things with us is great. I’ve come up with a loose curriculum for her at home, dividing the rest of the year into four sections: Water, Earth, Fire, and Air, and throughout the year we’re going to use what we’ve learned to create an imaginary world, with its own oceans, lands, atmosphere, and chemical properties. I’ve found plenty of fun projects and activities utilizing math, science, English, and history within each topic. So far we are having a blast, and my daughter is really anxious to come up with more ideas and crafts and things we can do. I‘ve posted our first dayΒ and I’ll be posting each lesson plan so if you’re interested to see how it goes be sure to check back!

For the second time in my life, I’ve been feeling like I’m unhappy with church. A crisis of faith I guess you could call it. I just have had serious problems with a lot of things that I witness going on, especially the emphasis on “growing the body of Christ.” I don’t have a problem with that actually, just how protestant churches feel the best way to do that is to buy a lot of fancy (and expensive) gadgets and preaching lots of “God loves you,” “learn how better your life is with God,” “Everything is forgiven with God’s grace” kind of sermons. It just feels like Service is sitting on my chest, refusing to be ignored. I can’t stand so much talk of Jesus’s love and no talk of Jesus calling on us to serve him. Even when there is service it is so full of egotism, of what serving others gives to me…whatever happened to humility? In my head I just keep hearing:
“What doth it profit, Β my brethren, though a man say he hath faith, and have not works? can faith save him?
If a brother or sister be naked, and destitute of daily food, and one of you say unto them, depart in peace, be ye warmed and filled; notwithstanding ye give them not those things which are needful to the body; what doth it profit? Even so faith, if it hath not works, is dead, being alone. Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works; shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works. Thou believest that there is one God; thou doest well: the devils also believe, and tremble. But wilt though know, O vain man, that faith without works is dead? Was not Abraham our father justified by works, when he had offered Isaac his son upon the altar?
Seest thou how faith wrought with his works, and by works was faith made perfect? And the scripture was fulfilled which saith, Abraham believed God, and it was imputed unto him for righteousness; and he was called the Friend of God. Ye see them how that by works a man is justified, and not by faith only. Likewire also was not Rahab that harlot justified by works, when she had received the messengers, and had sent them out another way? For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.”
My three year old needs to have TV. I feel like a terrible mother saying that, like I shouldn’t be relying on the television and should be trying harder or something, but the fact is, that at least twice a day, he needs to sit down and just take a mindless rest without me, or his sister, or anyone else bothering him. And right now, when we’re going through a schedule change and he is so tired all of the time, I am so thankful for the television. Because sometimes we both need a break.

Watching Kipper. I’m shocked (sarcasm).

I have four awesome new recipes up on romantic homemaking, located at the top of this blog, or on this link. I’d love for you guys to check them out. A bunch of Fall deliciousness.
We’ve been getting a bunch of deliveries since I discovered how awesome it is to buy things online and get a package in the mail. It’s like sending a present to myself. I’ve gotten five so far and although most are mundane things we needed, I also got an awesome new skirt from ModCloth.

Cute, no?

Although, I also order some tights from them and literally as soon as I put them on they ripped. And because they’re tights it didn’t even seem worth it to complain. Oh well.

So much fun all contained in one box!

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-52731437-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

6 thoughts on “Five Favorites

  1. Erika Marie says:

    That IS a cute skirt! I love skirts but have such a hard time finding them anymore. They're the endangered species of clothing. πŸ™‚
    I also really like your header picture, it seems to illustrate my children perfectly.
    I get what you mean about the service talk. Often times there's too much emphasis on “what I'm getting out of it” or not. It's not about us. It's about Him and others. I'll pray God's guides you and pulls you deeper into a true and genuine service with Him.

    Like

  2. Emily says:

    I came over after I read your comment (thanks, by the way! – I'll check out those books as soon as reading non-board books is no longer disastrous!) And then I read what you said in your about me about the best of the past and the best of the present – YES YES YES! That's so much of what I'm trying to accomplish and you articulated it so well. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. Erika Marie says:

    Yes, shirts that fall before my knee don't flatter me that well but I'm not comfortable going much shorter than right above the knee. Do you sew at all? I don't but with I did so I could make my own.

    Like

Leave a Reply

