Five Favorites

So here I am ready for another week of moxiewife’s Five Favorites.

Im not positive I’lll be posting next week. We’re heading on our annual summervisit to Tybee. My husband is unfortunately not coming with us and is bravely staying home to man the fort. The poor man has been incredibly busy with t he beast of a class known as CALCULUS 2 (please read that in a very loud, booming voice. It’s an epic course.) but that means that the children and I will be heading off for a lovely weekend of sun and surf without him. I kind of doubt they will mind, but I’ve already started to become depressed about it. You get used to having a best friend with you all the time and then you do something very fun, and they can’t be there! But, I’m sure I’ll somehow manage to have a good time.

1.) Curly hair

Sometime around late spring i can finally let my hair do what it wants. The warm air helps it curl, so its not lanky like it is in winter, but honestly it sometimes gets a bit out of control and i look a bit like Helena Bonham Carter. In general though, its so nice to just be able to brush it and go. I like letting it do what it wants. It looks happy.

2.) Podcast

I know I’ve posted on here before about Radiolab. this podcast is fantastic though, but I must warn you, it’s a tear jerker! If you don’t want to listen to it, the podcast is based on a wonderful series of articles written by the mother, Kelley, in the Tampa Bay Times.
The podcast is about a couple who had a daughter at 23 weeks, and her struggle for survival, as well as the parents debate over what constitutes life, and how to quantify that in saving the life of their premature baby.

3.) Gardening

I know I like to post a lot on here about my garden, but it’s just doing so wonderful I have to brag. In fact, it’s doing a bit too well, and we’re up to our eyeballs in spinach, arugula, and swiss chard….but not much else yet. To be honest, I think we’re all getting a bit tired of greens, but that doesn’t stop me from going out to the garden every day to pick more. I’m not a terribly dedicated weeder and I tell myself that’s ok because some small weeds will help keep in the soils moisture….right??

4.) Poems- My Last Duchess by Robert Browning

I haven’t been reading many books lately, which makes me terribly sad. My eyes have just been hurting a lot, I think from allegies, and reading long stretches makes them hurt even more.  So I’ve been comforting myself with poetry. I just reread this one earlier (gotta love keeping old anthologies!) and it is one of the most beautiful and terrifying poems I know of. I think I like it because it reminds me a bit of Rebecca, or Jane Eyre, if you think about the men being crazy instead of their deceased wives.

5.) My childlren.

My children are always some of my favorite things but today they were particularly endearing. I was distracted earlier, and told them they could go outside and play. They wanted to water the garden so I said “Sure! That’d be very helpful!” They came back inside ten or twenty minutes later, asking for some water to drink, to which I said “sure. Help yourself.” I went outside to get the laundry off the line and walked outside to find toys absolutely everywhere and this….

That is our sandbox. It is now a small pond.

I cleaned everything up, was outside for another ten minutes or so, walk inside with the laundry and see this…

This was even a little post clean up.

My daughter’s bedspread with about all of the food from our fridge on it. I suppose this was the “water” they had asked for earlier. As annoyed as I was, I couldn’t do anything but laugh about it. They had created quite the restaurant, and complete with menus and serving trays. It was adorable. Annoying, but adorable.

Also, i finally took a picture of my redone chairs i talked about last week. Red with yellow toile.

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-52731437-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

