Daily Inspiration

I feel like I’m constantly apologizing for not posting more but seriously, it’s getting a bit ridiculous. No computer and warm spring days has made sitting on the computer terrible, but I still have so much going on in my head. I need to jot down some notes for blogs later. Luckily today was a rainy day so I got to work on this some.  I’ll have my part 2 of Starting Seeds Indoors and Vintage Values: Waste Not Want Not posted on poorgirlsmarthastewart sometime this weekend so be sure to check back for that.

1.) Lean In verse the Cult of Inconvenience is an article that was written by Lenore from Freerangekids.com (love that website!) about the self sacrificing mother’s are pressured to do. If there are two things I hate it is people having children when they don’t actually want them because “that’s what you do,” and people who have children feeling like they have to slice off an arm and a leg to be a good parent. As Lenore says, in the cult of inconvenience, “because it’s an inconvenience, Mom earns a chit.” As if being a good parent rests solely on how miserable you can make yourself. I wont go any further about this, mostly because I already wrote a post more or less on this subject. Check it out.

2.) So I’ve been listen to Pandora a lot lately and they keep playing me Florence + the Machine songs which I completely forgot were so good! It’s so grandiose that you kind of just have to be in the mood for them, so maybe that’s why I was like “eh” during cold gloomy winter.

Plus isn’t Florence one of the coolest people ever? I mean, she’s kind of an oddball, but she looks like she literally just stepped out of a renaissance painting. You’ve got to admire her style.

Also, my children love this song. They clearly have good taste in music, although I think Raffi is still their favorite.

3.) My Porch/ Birds
My front porch might as well be my entire house because right now I treat it like it is. I moved our outdoor couch and chairs there instead of the wooden chairs I normally put and it has become my own little slice of heaven. Our house is up so high on the hill I can see the horizon line, and the wind comes whipping around so fiercely, and the southern sun feels perfect. I always tell the kids I feel like I’m on a boat, which is about the extent of my imagination…I just create metaphors and similes…but the kids imagination takes off. “Un Bateau?? ” and they spend the rest of the day playing boat and fishing off the front stoop (I can never say the word stoop without thinking of stoopkid. I hope someone else gets that reference).
But, the other wonderful part of my porch is that flanking either side are pine trees, which the birds love. In the mornings and evenings it can get quite ruckus out there with all the birds twittering around. I’ve been talking to my son about bird calls and I asked him what a Mourning Birds say. He must think that they are called “morning” birds because he said, “Wake up! Wake up!” Pretty good joke for a two year old haha.

4.) Fred Astaire
I heard the other day Louis Armstrong singing Cheek to Cheek and it was not good. But really, who can sing that song better than Fred Astaire?

Plus, Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald are wonderful, but together they are no Fred and Ginger. I’m pretty sure Louis and Ella don’t have their own building in Prague.

I also have to include this video because it is one of the best songs OF ALL TIME (too dramatic? Sorry)

http://youtube.googleapis.com/v/GKPMk5_gStk&source=uds

And also this one. I’m pretty sure I’ve shared it on facebook before so why not on here too?
Fred Astaire called it “The Greatest Dance Number Ever Filmed.”

5. And for something much less cheery, Sense and Sensibility has been on my mind. I hurt my foot a couple of days ago and I instantly thought of Marianne and being scooped up off my injured leg by Willoughby (that didn’t happen). Then this week it started to rain, which just reinforced Sense and Sensibility in my brain, because who can ever forget Marianne standing in the rain, whispering “Love is not love which…” well…let me just show you the clip. I can’t do it as well as Kate Winslet.

http://youtube.googleapis.com/v/m8lgbyITv2A&source=uds

It has one of the better movie soundtracks out there. I can remember being eight or nine and holding a concert for my parents where I sang “Weep No More Sad Fountains.” I don’t think my parents were very impressed but I sang with such passion they clapped for me anyway haha.

http://youtube.googleapis.com/v/S1bRamJA1Qo&source=uds

Sorry I have so many videos and songs in here! But please watch/listen to them all. I promise they will be worth it! (function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’); ga(‘create’, ‘UA-52731437-1’, ‘auto’); ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

