My Weekend

I’m so sorry that I didn’t post anything for the past couple of days. I had a very enjoyable long weekend at my sister’s. She was nervous about national match day, where she and thousands of other U.S. medical students were finding out where they are moving for their residency. Her match day brunch was so exciting, but not just for her. I was excited for every person that went up on the stage and opened their envelope to announce where they were going. It seemed like just about everyone (including my sister) got one of their top three choices, so it was a very happy day.
We had a great time, and went out to eat at these cute little restaurants. My son was a bit grumpy as he’s going through his terrible twos but every time he did something he thought was funny he’d say “excuse me mommy, excuse me aunt carmen, EXCUSE ME” Apparently “excuse me” is universal language for “look at me now!”

(I was able to bring some of these bad boys home with me!)

My parents took my son home so I could meet my husband in Cincinnati with my daughter to take her to see Peter Pan with Cathy Rigby at the Aronoff. She had been asking to see a play for her birthday but there wasn’t really anything playing that we could find. She had been pulling to go see the Shakespeare Company do A Midsummer Night’s Dream, which I had taken her to see once before and she thought the donkey was hilarious. But then we just happened to be at my mother in laws and on her TV came an advertisement for Peter Pan. My daughter and I fairly freaked out since we’d watched the filmed version of the play on Netflix several times and my parents got her tickets as an early birthday present. They weren’t really interested in going so we took my daughter instead and I’m so glad we did! It will definitely go down as one of my favorite family memories. The play was wonderful. Despite being a grandmother, Cathy Rigby still has the acrobats and voice of a young person, and to hear all the children in the huge theatre laughing was fantastic. Afterwards we walked around the city until we found a place for dinner (at 11:30!) at this cute little italian restaurant that was empty except for us and another couple. The weather was mild and we were all happy from a great day and talked and laughed about the play. I can’t say enough things about what a fabulous time we had.
But then came Saturday morning and all the cleaning and laundry I hadnt done since I was gone. And now I’m back! and hopefully will be able to post every day again!

I’m moving my Vintage Values series, as well as all helpful ideas and suggestions over to Poor Girl’s Martha Stewart, which you can find at the top of my webpage, so be sure to check over there for new posts too!

Oh and I hope you had a great St. Patrick’s Day!

Leave a Reply

